Lawn mowing whilst Low (oops)

I don’t mow the lawn often (make that ever).

When I was finally old enough to run the ride-on mower, I did the “big” lawn once…and never again. I don’t think I did a very good job. Come to think of it, they never really asked me to do it again. I was the oldest child, and my younger sister did it more than I ever did. I was exempt, and I don’t think it was because of my superiority in age. I’m pretty sure it was my superiority in, well, sucking at mowing the lawn.

Yesterday I wanted to surprise Reggie by mowing. I was doing pretty well for a bit, and was actually feeling quite smug about the straight lines I thought I was producing. Our front lawn has multiple trees. Maple trees, fruit trees, you name it, it is there. They make mowing interesting, and apparently they make mowing with a low blood glucose VERY interesting.

I was soon to be finished doing the “very close to the trees” run on our last row of trees. I was spinning that wheel around like a Nascar driver. Or so I thought. 4 or 5 trees in on that row I realized I had been hit by at least one branch, either on the arm, trunk or head when passing each of the last few trees. First I laughed at myself, “man I’m clumsy!” then I thought “Or maybe I’m low…?”

Minutes later I’m in the kitchen surveying my blood sugar. Yup, 2.9mmol/L. Wow. You would have thought the first 5 or 6 hits from the trees would have been my first clue.

I was feelin’ better a few Peanut “Better” Gingersnaps later Winking smile. I know that fatty treats like a cookie are not an ideal way to treat a low, but I was feeling it.

One thought on “Lawn mowing whilst Low (oops)

  1. Hi Ciara,

    Your blog is so inspirational!

    I am working with a well known brand to build a vibrant community to help spread the word about diabetes and a healthy lifestyle.

    It would be great if you could join our community to help educate, inform and converse with those living with Diabetes.

    If you would like to learn more about this and help us spread the word about diabetes awareness, please send an email to info@atomicreach.com

    Thanks,
    Annette

Leave a Reply

