Counting Saucy Carbs

7148526067_3afe1e2bf4_o

It’s now day 3 of D-Blog week and today’s post is the “One Thing to Improve” post. As in, one thing I could do better in terms of my ‘betes. Well, considering I had an experience with crappy carb counting on Monday night, I think that this post topic came at an opportune time.

ss_CarbsSlide1

image via Google.com

Reggie and I went out for supper and a movie with his aunt (HI SHIRLEY Open-mouthed smile), uncles and friends. I had a Chicken Sesame Seed Salad. I thought I would be risqué and order something with a little spice, a little sauce. You see, I tend to stick to sauce-less foods at restaurants. I normally do salmon, roasted veggies and so on because they are low in carbs and I’m less likely to have to deal with high blood glucose later on.

This day I wanted to be adventurous with the salad plus thai sauce. I ordered it up, ate it, annnnnd bombed my carb counting. Totally under-did it, and when we got home from the post-supper movie (Dark Shadows) my sugar was 19.1mmol/L. Oops.

I think I could get better at carb counting, and I may even make an appointment with the dietician at my next diabetes appointment. I just recently learned to subtract the fibre content from my total carbs when carb counting. How the heck did I not know this?? What else do I not know!?

I never ask the waitress/waiter about nutritional info when eating out, and maybe I should start doing so. Truth is though, I need to live a little too. At least I got a yummy salad….Right?

Here is a link to a little Carb Counting Info Sheet from the Canadian Diabetes Association for your viewing pleasure. It’s pretty basic stuff, but we all get a little cocky in our old diabetes age right? A little review never hurts: Basic Carbohydrate Counting for Diabetes Management

2 thoughts on “Counting Saucy Carbs

  1. agreed completely! as i sit and eat some tim hortons bagel which i have no idea how many carbs it is! i will admit to being cocky but i can always learn!:) no one ever told me about the fiber thing either! when do they come up with new things? like also a cup of milk is one carb serving, so 15 carbs? but on the carton it says 13? 2 milk used to be 12 carbs? how do these things change?

Leave a comment