Dextrose to the Rescue

7148526067_3afe1e2bf4_o

again, image via Karen @ bittersweetdiabetes.com

D-Blog week Post #2 “One Great Thing”

Today we have been asked to write about one thing that we do great in relation to diabetes; kind of a “toot your own horn” kind of post, which sounds good to me.

The first thing that popped into my head is that I do well at getting exercise (aka sweatabetes) in each day (unless it’s my two 12 hour days at work; I count the many steps I take as my workout on those days). However; I wanted to mix it up and skip the exercise convo today. I’m going to talk about how fabulous I am at carrying a sugar source in case of lows! I have got dextrose tabs floating around all over the place: my nightstand, my purse, my car, my bra when I run Surprised smile etc.

See?2012_0514blogshots00032012_0514blogshots0004

2012_0514blogshots0005

Aren’t you glad I didn’t show a shot of them in my bra while running? That would have been slightly scandalous….and sweaty (alliteration much?).

I think I am the most well stocked with dextrose tabs that I have ever been (due to a recent trip to Costco). The tabs are sooo much cheaper at Costco! I tend to use them not only when I am low, but also prophylactically (ahead of time, to prevent a low; such as during or before a workout). A girl can only drink so much juice in her lifetime, and my ability to down another juice box left me over a year ago.

Here’s to me and my incredible, “compliance” when it comes to carrying a source of glucose for lows! Rolling on the floor laughing

Have any of you found a great alternative for treating lows that does not involve glucose tablets or juice?

9 thoughts on “Dextrose to the Rescue

  1. In the case of emergencies (although I know it’s not the best solution!) but I’ll suspend my insulin for a bit – if i don’t have supplies that’s my ‘temporary’ measure until I can find food! I quite like raisons and dried apricots, they seem to work well 🙂 I have a little shrine of glucose tabs at the moment though, because of my exams – all covered!

    • Mmmmmm… the raisins and the apricots sound delish. I used to eat lots of raisins in my younger years, and I love them. I think I’ll take a trip to Bulk Barn soon and bring those back into my rotation.

  2. I find it funny that you choose tabs over juice because it seems like so many PWDs (myself included) would choose the opposite because of the texture!

  3. I can relate to this post! I have those things everywhere, including my running bra 🙂 I find them the quickest to work and I don’t mind the taste. Also I think if I carried real candy I would be too tempted to eat it!

  4. I hate glucose tabs, and find that on the go, juice is too bulky.
    Anything with high fructose corn syrup works for me – skittles, jellybeans, etc. But I have a terrible sweet tooth and it’s easy to overdo.
    It’s tempting for people to blame the db for a severe hypo, when the real truth it is not testing when feeling low, and not having anything to treat the low.

  5. I have recently been shifting away from the juice boxes and going into Nerds. I try with the glucose tabs but they can be hard for me to get down quickly. I have to check for them in Costco though, I never thought of that

    • I know what you mean about having trouble getting them down quickly. When I eat them during runs they are so chalky and dry in my mouth I think I’ll never get them down!

      Nerds sound yummy! Haven’t had those in years.

Leave a Reply

