Home Workout Fashion Sense

What’s that? You’re wondering about the benefits of working out at home? Well, let me tell you there are many.

1. For those of you who don’t feel comfortable at the gym, a home workout is rather perfect! There are many body weight workouts out there that require only you and a bit of motivation.

2. You can also listen to whatever music like, and LOUDLY! Nicki Minaj? You got it. Drake? You got it. Taylor Swift (kinda weird for workout music), but GO FOR IT.

3. You can drink water from a glass.

4. You can get your workout in without worrying about time “wasted” during the commute.

5. Most important– You don’t have to worry about how you appear. No one is going to be snickering at your squats. Personally, I workout a lot at home because I am just SO scared that people will try to steal my workout fashion sense.

Image

See? There is a lot at stake.

No, I do not normally dress like this. I don’t ever pull out my Team Diabetes jersey for workouts, but last night it felt right.

I don’t usually wear soft, furry socks to workout, but last night I just thought I wouldn’t bother changing them.

I don’t usually tuck in my shirt, but hey why not?

I don’t carry around a bottle of glucose tablets with…. oh wait, yeah… I guess I do do that. I do wear the pump that you see on my right hip. I usually wear a headband AND I do usually look pretty kick ass.

My fave workout attire right now includes a couple new shirts and a sports bra from Lulu Lemon.

The Cool Racerback (extra long) ( I bought 2, one extra long and one not extra long)

Image

The Flow Y Bra IV

Image

I love the tanks because they are long enough that they don’t ride up while you run/workout. I like the bra mostly because it gets the job done, and is pretty 🙂

I work out in the basement here at home. It’s always a little cold down there so I start off with a sweater and then peel off layers as I get overheated. Normally I’ll wear some shorts and a tank.

I do enjoy going to an actual gym. However; I can do most of what I would do at the gym, at home. I don’t use the machines in the weight room, because I believe that body weight exercises or using weights are just as good or better. We have a treadmill and the outdoors for cardio. I like getting my workout in in the morning and then jumping in the shower and starting my day. Skipping the 20 minute (both ways) commute is ideal for me. We have a small workout bench with bench press, lat-pull down, various dumbbells, yoga mat, medicine ball, skipping rope, kettle ball and exercise ball. Those are my most used pieces of equipment (and pretty much our only equipment).

I had an 8 hour education day at work today, which was great. It was good review and I learned some things too! Then I went to one of my fave boutiques called Harvest (as previously mentioned, I have a problem with boutiques) and here I bought a b-day gift. I found a dress that I love, and may just have to splurge on. I do have 5 weddings (aside from our own, I already have a dress for that) to attend this summer, along with a few showers, and a rehearsal dinner. So I think a few new dresses are lovely investments.

I came home and kind of stuffed my face. Reggie had bought us some sushi for sup (which we love). I had that, then a few girl guide cookies (the vanilla ones) and maybe a few other things… I wasn’t exactly the perfect picture of healthy eating tonight. Oh well, we all have our days right?

Have a good evening ya’ll! I’m back to work tomorrow for 2 days and then 2 nights. I work 12 hour shifts so likely won’t be posting for a bit, unless I can fit in a few short posts.

Wanted to finish with a question: Do any of you have any tricks for eating well while working shift work or night shifts? Or just all around health tricks for shift work? 

3 thoughts on “Home Workout Fashion Sense

  1. Love, love, love the work out attire! Second only to the sweet stance.

    Mat. Leave has me far removed from shift work, and really, you should be the one advising good eating habits, not I.

  2. Ciara! Just want to say this post is amazing lol I totally feel this way. I half contemplated going out to a class but getting there would have taken forever… and then I read this. You inspired me to do P90X at home, wearing whatever… I didn’t get all the way through it but who’s watch? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

