Asparagus & Aspergillus

Hi there! I’ve been thinking about starting this blog for quite some time now. I blogged a bit in university, and have really felt the urge lately. Why did I call this post Asparagus and Aspergillus? Well, I feel like it lends to explain the sort of mish-mash blog that this may be. Why asparagus? I have varied interests including fitness, healthy eating, and mixing the two with type one diabetes. Why aspergillus? It semi-rhymes and lends to my nursing background. I have been an RN for 3 years now, working in an intensive care unit.

A little about me and a brief rundown of my sweetest motivations: Firstly, I’m 24 but some people say I seem a bit beyond my years. I take it as a compliment! I have had type 1 diabetes (controlled by insulin via insulin pump) for 13 years. I have daily diabetes-related struggles and triumphs that I am likely to mention from time to time.

I enjoy exercise especially in the form of running, strength training and bootcamp style classes. Lately I am especially motivated to be fit due to our wedding coming up in July! My fiancé’s name is Reggie and he is best you could ask for. I am constantly trying to improve my eating habits, one large motivator being how much better I feel when I eat well, and also my blood glucose control. One thing I hope this blog will show is that despite a chronic illness, people can live healthy, active lifestyles. I hope to inspire and motivate others to do so.

Reggie and I are realitively new homeowners, having bought our first home approximately 1.5 years ago. We have been putting personal touches on our homestead and posts of this nature are likely to pop up.

We have two nut-job pets that we love: Cooper (the husky/shepard/lab/beagle) and Chester (the Tabby cat). These two prizes will also be mentioned on occasion.

Leave a Reply

